Editor Afloat

Dedicated to Sticklers everywhere!

Yes, Pat, I’d like to buy a vowel?

Leave a comment

Billboard

Billboard on highway with misspelled word.

Sure, but just how many do you need? I am certain there is only one “a” in survivable. I must pass this billboard every day on my way home from town. The message is somber but encouraging. By God’s grace I am not afflicted by cancer or any other devastating condition but your billboard is killing me. As I approach that section of highway, the battle in my mind mounts with apprehension. Do not look! Do not look! Do not look! But it’s of no use. I look up and there is that extra “a”. It jumps out, taunting me. It dances and cavorts, gambols and frolics, daring me to notice. I search the other motorists’ faces. No one sees it! I have a nearly uncontrollable urge to stop my car in the middle of the highway and force drivers to acknowledge the mischievous letter. Am I the only one who knows, like a long-ago Shatner, teetering on the edge of The Twilight Zone and insanity? That. Thing. Was. Out. There. Finally I pass the spot where the towering billboard springs up out of the roadside pasture and I’m free once again, the only thing left of the errant “a” is its mockery seared in my memory.

Effective advertising leaves a brand impression, not frustration. Is there a publically displayed error somewhere that pushes your button? Share them with us, please, and pictures too if you have them!

The Editor Afloat is on Facebook and Twitter too.

Author: The Editor Afloat

The Editor Afloat provides proofreading and editing services for the written word. The name comes from the NCIS designation for a Special Agent assigned to a vessel, "Agent Afloat". I live on-board and work from my boat. That makes me an Editor Afloat!

Leave a Reply

