Editor Afloat

Dedicated to Sticklers everywhere!

Orthography is… no, wait! Please don’t go?

1 Comment

I was just going to say that orthography is the science of spelling. Did you honestly already know that? I was thinking ‘birds’ when I first saw the word but that would be ornithology. Now I will admit that anything else I say about this subject will no doubt be boring to anyone that isn’t a wordie like me. So let me tell a few jokes instead, how’s that?

This first one is for my Portlandia friends, well, for anyone who resides in the Pacific Northwest or indeed, any region that receives significant rainfall. Ready? (You’ll find the answers at the bottom of this article.)

Q: What do you call the first sunny day after three straight days of rain?

I need to make a disclaimer for the next one, this is for all the ‘redhead’ jokes I may tell in the future as well. “I am a true redhead so I can get away with telling these jokes!”

Q: What is the difference between a pit bull and a redhead?

Q: Did you hear about the man who didn’t know the difference between Vaseline and window putty?

Answers: Monday!, Lipstick, His windows fell out. (What were you thinking!?)

One more, this one’s kid proof.

Q: Do you know why the cookie went to the doctor? A: He felt crummy.

You can find The Editor Afloat on Facebook and Twitter. You are welcome to leave comments on these blogs as well.

Author: The Editor Afloat

The Editor Afloat provides proofreading and editing services for the written word. The name comes from the NCIS designation for a Special Agent assigned to a vessel, "Agent Afloat". I live on-board and work from my boat. That makes me an Editor Afloat!

One thought on “Orthography is… no, wait! Please don’t go?

  1. Pingback: Monday word of the week – Orthography | lifeofdeb

Leave a Reply

