Editor Afloat

Dedicated to Sticklers everywhere!

Day 2 – Gratitude

Leave a comment

Each day for a week, I am attempting to find something unique and wonderful for which to be grateful but I think I picked the wrong week for this experiment! The day started off well enough. The sunlight filtering through the porthole windows told me we were getting a third day of perfect weather.

There are thousands of intrepid bicycling fans in Portlandia. I am not one of them. However, since the weather was so nice and I feel the need to “get healthy”, I decide to ride the mountain bike to the barn. I got there, cleaned stalls and rode my horse. Finished at the barn, I swing the bike back toward the marina for the 10 mile ride home. I get maybe half way and I hear this clinking noise and the pedals quit turning. The chain, rather than simply breaking and falling off, has looped itself around the gears and is jammed. I call a neighbor, he’s not home. So I walk pushing this miserable hunk of metal. Another biker stops and tries to help. No good, she tells me. I walk some more. Finally, another marina resident sees me and gives me a ride for the last 2 or 3 miles.Here’s where I employ my power of choice. I could dwell on the mishap and end up pushing the bike over the embankment onto the railroad tracks. But the idea of this week is to find something kind to say about each day. So, “YAY” to Wally for giving me a ride home. The rest of the day, I took pretty easy. Maybe tomorrow will be better!

 

Author: The Editor Afloat

The Editor Afloat provides proofreading and editing services for the written word. The name comes from the NCIS designation for a Special Agent assigned to a vessel, "Agent Afloat". I live on-board and work from my boat. That makes me an Editor Afloat!

Leave a Reply

