Editor Afloat

Dedicated to Sticklers everywhere!

Day 3 – Gratitude

Leave a comment

Yesterday was much easier! Woke up to more sunshine although the clouds and the rain came back by the end of the day. As usual, when I awake I am pinned down between two cats. Aspen is my roommate’s cat but she shares her time between us. Her favorite spot is curled up into the small of my back. Wyatt, who is typically asleep in my arms, is not so magnanimous with his affections and won’t let Aspen sleep on the same side of me as he is. I spend a few minutes petting the cats and listening to their purrs before squeezing my way out from between them.

My roommate left early for work so I putter around the boat for a bit, then drive out to see my horse. I finish up the barn chores and decide to give Cree the day off so I head to town for some groceries. Back at the boat I clean house and work on my latest creative project. In the back of my mind, there are thoughts beginning to form, much like a ‘tag cloud‘. All have a recurring theme: You are leading a mundane life, is this boring stuff the best you can do? I pride myself on living as drama-free as possible but does that mean I’ve quit leading a proactive, forward-thinking, always-battling-for-a-cause kind of life? Maybe so. Time for some soul-searching, reach deep inside and see if I can’t pull a magical rabbit out of the hat. Like the Bullwinkle cartoon from my youth, maybe I don’t know my own strength.

Author: The Editor Afloat

The Editor Afloat provides proofreading and editing services for the written word. The name comes from the NCIS designation for a Special Agent assigned to a vessel, "Agent Afloat". I live on-board and work from my boat. That makes me an Editor Afloat!

Leave a Reply

