Editor Afloat

Dedicated to Sticklers everywhere!

Day 4 – Gratitude

Leave a comment

This is Day 4 of my reality check of my own life to see if I am being properly grateful for all that I have.

Sundays are much easier to find things for which to be thankful. As I listened to the various prayer requests from the church congregation, I realized I have many things that are not going wrong right now in my life. For these, I am seriously grateful. In the past six years I have lost my husband and two close family members to debilitating conditions but am spared that trauma currently. Still, we all have issues, some are more difficult than others to resolve. I find that most of the troubles in my life are not the easy fix type. They drag on and require lots of work and time to remedy.

The early morning rain cleared away so by the time church services were over and I got out to the barn, the day was cleansed and the breeze was refreshing. I rode Cree out past the hay fields and I’ll give a half Gratitude credit for seeing the turtle sunning himself on the branch sticking out of the slough. Still haven’t managed to sneak up on him to snap a picture though. It’s hard to be stealthy on a thousand-pound horse.

Sunday evenings are typically lazy times on the boat. I spent my time reading and doing some Sudoku puzzles. In my mind there still rests the clouded thoughts than I am not doing enough. Time to start a plan of action.

Author: The Editor Afloat

The Editor Afloat provides proofreading and editing services for the written word. The name comes from the NCIS designation for a Special Agent assigned to a vessel, "Agent Afloat". I live on-board and work from my boat. That makes me an Editor Afloat!

Leave a Reply

