Editor Afloat

Dedicated to Sticklers everywhere!

Day 7 – Gratitude

Leave a comment

Sticking my life under the microscope for the last week and examining it for its qualities, or lack thereof, has really done nothing more for me than verify what I was afraid was beginning to happen. My life is not exactly boring but it is bordering on the too comfortable, same ol’ stuff day in and day out. A safe way to live perhaps but nothing extraordinary is ever going to happen unless I go about making some changes. I remember once, when I was a kid, some time during summer vacation, my friends and I marched into the house and announced that we were bored. My mother saw to it that we were extremely busy for the next 3 or 4 hours. We never made that mistake again. We found that there is always something to do, if you just look.

Basically, yesterday was much like the day before. Except there was a heron on the log with my turtle. I didn’t see the turtle at first and grew a bit worried, wondering what herons ate. The bird sat perfectly still as Cree and I gaited by, the turtle plopped into the water as soon as he sensed the horse on the path. More weed-pulling at the church while my roommate mowed their lawn rounded out a pleasant afternoon.

From here, where do I go? I can go on with every day like the last or I can begin to formulate and put into action some proactive ideas for spicing up my life. More on that next time. 🙂

Author: The Editor Afloat

The Editor Afloat provides proofreading and editing services for the written word. The name comes from the NCIS designation for a Special Agent assigned to a vessel, "Agent Afloat". I live on-board and work from my boat. That makes me an Editor Afloat!

Leave a Reply

