Editor Afloat

Dedicated to Sticklers everywhere!

What I Learned

Leave a comment

For the last seven days, I have tried to write a Gratitude post, being thankful for something new each day. It was a challenging week, to say the least. I wasn’t looking for a major miracle to happen each and every day but still, there’s something about only having the usual things for which to be thankful. Mainly, the bad stuff that didn’t happen. I’m thankful the boat didn’t spring a leak and sink. I’m thankful the horse barn didn’t burn down. I’m thankful my car wasn’t stolen. These are huge, don’t get me wrong but I think I would like to be saying “thanks” for some more positive happenings, rather than non-events. So, where do I get these positive events? The saying, “Good things come to those who wait”, I believe should read more like, “Good things come to those who get off their rear, do something proactive about tomorrow, and keep focused on where they are going in life”. I really don’t think the saying means if you just sit there indefinitely, great things are going to be handed to you. Nope! There are things in this life I haven’t done yet and I realize the reason why is that I’m lazy. I’m not putting out the effort to bring my desired results. I can use all my bad luck as an excuse or I can just keep paddling. I need to look closely at what I want and how do I get there from here. I need to look closely at me. Ick! I hate that part. I have to answer this question of myself, “Is there a destination worth the journey?” We’ll see.

Author: The Editor Afloat

The Editor Afloat provides proofreading and editing services for the written word. The name comes from the NCIS designation for a Special Agent assigned to a vessel, "Agent Afloat". I live on-board and work from my boat. That makes me an Editor Afloat!

Leave a Reply

