Editor Afloat

Dedicated to Sticklers everywhere!

Lead Character

Leave a comment

As I was reading through the news releases about the tragic Texas and Oklahoma storms, I ran across an inspirational photo that someone had posted. It was cute – a little dachshund wearing a helmet and a superhero cape, standing on the top of a shopping cart so he could look over the fence. It was the caption, however, that grabbed my attention. It read, “I am the lead character in my own story.” I wrote it down and within a few days a this poem had formed.

Leading Role

I am the lead character in my own story,
When the credits roll, to whom will I give the glory?
I play a starring role on my life’s big screen.
When the curtain falls, who will be the hero in my final scene?

As I live day-to-day in my own reality show,
Just like Hollywood, it’s all in who you know.
I must pick and choose who will be the author of my play.
I want a number one show, worth tuning into at the end of the day.

So I struggle to be writer, producer, director – all in one.
But something is missing, it’s not good enough, when all is said and done.
I grow so weary, when will I stop to recall
That the One who came before, He wrote it all.

But God’s story isn’t popular with the crowd,
Lord, give me strength to fight, stand my own ground.
In all my acting let the world see Your love shine through,
Let me play the leading role especially for You.

God wants us all as co-stars in the world’s greatest love story
And to remember in everything to give Him all the glory.
I do not wish to wait until the final credits roll,
So, please Lord, direct my every act until Your face I behold.

Karen Olin ©2013

Author: The Editor Afloat

The Editor Afloat provides proofreading and editing services for the written word. The name comes from the NCIS designation for a Special Agent assigned to a vessel, "Agent Afloat". I live on-board and work from my boat. That makes me an Editor Afloat!

Leave a Reply

