Editor Afloat

Dedicated to Sticklers everywhere!

Yes! Spelling matters.

Leave a comment

In the last couple of weeks, I have seen a few articles in the news which contained spelling errors. Not all that uncommon, unfortunately, but sometimes a misspelled word can add a certain amount of irony to the situation. Take the first article, for example, about the winner of the Scripps National Spelling Bee. The original news release (which has since been corrected) gave the name of this year’s champion, which was misspelled in the headline. There’s one for posterity! Then as I was perusing the news today, I read about a Native American highschool senior who was being punished by her school for wearing an eagle feather along with her tassel. The article said the school board was withholding her diploma and transcripts until she paid a $1,000 fine for violating the school’s dress code for graduation ceremonies. Putting aside the actual school’s position versus her ‘right’ as a Native American here, I found it interesting that the article author, a professional journalist who we can assume has a four-year degree, not only misspelled the tribe name but presented it incorrectly. What should have been “a member of the Poarch Band of the Creek Indians” was written as “a member of the Porch Creak Band of Indians”. Are they squeaky Indians or what? And why does it matter? That’s a question I ask myself almost every day. It seems that no one is too concerned about little things like spelling or grammar anymore. But someone should be, so I guess that’s where I take my stand. Spelling matters!

Author: The Editor Afloat

The Editor Afloat provides proofreading and editing services for the written word. The name comes from the NCIS designation for a Special Agent assigned to a vessel, "Agent Afloat". I live on-board and work from my boat. That makes me an Editor Afloat!

Leave a Reply

