Editor Afloat

Dedicated to Sticklers everywhere!

But I used a spell-checker!

4 Comments

Of course you used your spell-checker. I can tell because there are no spelling errors in your story. But… You knew there had to be a ‘but’, right? Consider this sentence, “Their ain’t nothing right about this hear sentence.” Run that through your spell-checker and it’ll inform you there are no errors. It is, however, loaded with grammatical problems and while ‘their’ and ‘hear’ are spelled correctly, those are not the proper choice of words for this usage. Some editing programs will point out a few more complex mistakes, but there aren’t many that can do the same job as a real, live person.

Many of you are aspiring authors and question the necessity of hiring an editor to review your final manuscript. It’s another expense before you ever get a chance to offer your best-seller to the public. Instead, view it as an investment. You’ve already put your precious time into enthralling your readers with your imaginative creation, you should want the work to be presented as professionally as possible.

Don’t forget my current special: If you’re a first-time author, I will edit your work for FREE! If you’ve only published one or two things, go ahead and ask me about a discount for your next work. 🙂

Author: The Editor Afloat

The Editor Afloat provides proofreading and editing services for the written word. The name comes from the NCIS designation for a Special Agent assigned to a vessel, "Agent Afloat". I live on-board and work from my boat. That makes me an Editor Afloat!

4 thoughts on “But I used a spell-checker!

  1. Oooohh…when you say “edit” do you mean cop-editing or just the basic proofread?

    • The editing I do is the final before publication. I look for context (rather than content), grammar, spelling, syntax, typos, words that have been left out – that sort of thing.

      • Oh lol, someone should have edited my comment! Well, I’m about to release my debut novel and would like to take advantage of your editing services. I’ll email you.

  2. Looking forward to hearing from you!

Leave a Reply

