Editor Afloat

Dedicated to Sticklers everywhere!

Fast Grammar – “I” vs. “me”

Leave a comment

Just a quickie here folks! Sometimes all we need is a short reminder to jar a memory loose, especially when it’s something we already know.

Here we go: “Paul and I went to the rodeo.”

The test: “Paul went to the rodeo.” Yes, that works. “I went to the rodeo.” That works as well so the statement, “Paul and I went to the rodeo”, is correct.

Now: “Sharon went to the rodeo with Paul and I.” No.

The test: “Sharon went to the rodeo with Paul.” That works fine. But, “Sharon went to the rodeo with I.” No, sorry, my teeth just fell out. LOL

So, that means that the correct statement would be: “Sharon went to the rodeo with Paul and me.” Because you can say, “Sharon went to the rodeo with me.”

Wasn’t that painless?

Look for more Fast Grammar sessions in the future and don’t forget to follow The Editor Afloat on Facebook or find me on Twitter and check out Author Kristen Hope Mazzola too! Her debut novel is in the process of its final edit. 🙂

Author: The Editor Afloat

The Editor Afloat provides proofreading and editing services for the written word. The name comes from the NCIS designation for a Special Agent assigned to a vessel, "Agent Afloat". I live on-board and work from my boat. That makes me an Editor Afloat!

Leave a Reply

